Sleeping Children

I once read that if you are experiencing any bad feelings toward your children (frustration, anger, etc), that you should look at your child sleeping. Indeed all children are beautiful and instantly lovable while sleeping. I get to experience this every night. We don’t tell many people we know this (because we are always told to stop this “bad habit” right away), but we stay with our children until they fall asleep. I really look forward to getting into bed with my daughter. We talk quietly, cuddle, and sometimes I sing to her if she requests it. We are quiet together until I hear her breathing become slower and heavier. When she is fast asleep, I tip toe out. I know that there will come a day when she will tell me she doesn’t need me anymore and that she wants to fall asleep on her own. I cherish this time as one of my favorite simple pleasures of motherhood.

Leave a Reply

