Paris Hilton on National Public Radio?

On my way back from the ultrasound, I flipped on NPR for a bit of news (I had been sleeping most of the day).  I could not believe my ears when I heard a report about Paris Hilton’s release from prison to house arrest.  When I arrived home, I told my mom about it.  She said, “All of that is a big ‘so what?'”  While normally I agree with her, I am really really against driving drunk.  In my opinion, it is no less dangerous than shooting off a gun on a public street.   That person should be severely punished.  I guess she had some sort of medical excuse to return home.  I can only guess she had a mental breakdown.  I have been in jails in my former life as an attorney and I would probably have a breakdown too.  Anyway, I just wish that she, like anyone else who has decided to get behind the wheel drunk, will NEVER, NEVER do it again.  Indeed, although I am Jewish and therefore disappointed by Mel Gibson’s anti-semitic and misogynist comments, I was much more upset that he was driving drunk!  He has the right to feel and say whatever he wants, but he has NO right to put others in danger.

Leave a Reply

