I Moved Out

One week ago, my husband and I were determined to let our son cry it out. We planned to do what all of our friends have been begging us to do — just put him to bed and shut the door. Perhaps they are fed up with having to hear us complain about his poor sleeping habits for the last two years. Anyway, after we heard him cry hysterically for twenty minutes, I got online for more help. I read an article about a Harvard study that suggested children who are left to cry it out are more susceptible to post traumatic stress disorder and other nervous system problems.  One part of me is so sorry I read that article.  Since I believe that our biggest problem right now is that he wants to nurse all night, I searched for a plan to eliminate that problem first (plus, I am so ready to wean!) Dr. Sears recommends (as a last resort, which is where we are right now) that Mom “move out” of the bedroom temporarily to stop a child from nursing all night, and that dad comfort the child in his bed. After reading these articles, my husband ran upstairs, brought our son into our bed, and comforted him. I slept on an air mattress in the living room. I have been sleeping on that mattress in the living room for an entire week now. He still gets up a few times a night to cry for me and for breastmilk. Every night, we tell him that there will be no milk until morning. Every night, we put him down in his own crib. Every night, he wakes up before 10 pm crying hysterically and asking for me. Every night my husband takes him into our bed. Every night, he wakes up every few hours to ask for me and to ask for milk. I thought it would be better by now, but we haven’t seen an improvement. We believe he is especially stubborn and it may take a while. My husband is very, very tired, but he is being a trooper. Wish us luck.

2 Responses to “I Moved Out”

  1. cynthia718 Says:

    I would love an update. I feel like I’m on another planet for having stopped nursing at 6 mos. but am intrigued and excited by your take-charge initiative. I wish you the best of luck.

  2. moodymommy Says:

    I’m so sorry it took me so long to respond. The little “sucker” has the croup! I have moved back in. I won’t say that our experiment failed. We took away his crib (not my idea) and now he has a twin bed. After about five weeks of sleeping in our living room on an air mattress, he understands that there is no nursing until the morning. I stand my ground, even though he still asks. One of us has been sleeping with him lately. At least we can be comfortable in bed with him. Yeah, we are crazy.


Leave a Reply

