Muffin Top! What Happened to Love Handles?

Sometimes, I’m a little bit behind the times,especially when it comes to fashion. I JUST heard the phrase “muffin top,” and it wasn’t in reference to the Seinfeld episode. You know, the one where Elaine only enjoyed eating the tops of the muffins, so she tried to donate a bunch of muffin bottoms to a soup kitchen. A “muffin top, ” occurs when flabby tummy flesh rolls out over the tops of pants. I have been keenly aware of my muffin top, ever since I gained ten pounds seemingly overnight. None of my pants fit me right now. It is even worse today, since I’m on day two of my period.

What happened to those endearing “love handles?” I have always had a couple of love handles and they weren’t my best asset, but they didn’t bother me as much as my “muffin top.” I have temporarily solved the problem with two new pairs of pants. (I refuse to buy a whole new wardrobe since I am determined to fit into my old clothes again). I can’t buy any new t-shirts because all of the t-shirts in the stores are tissue-thin and merely enhance the outline of my muffin top. Of course, I know that buying new clothes is not the answer. I think we should all just go back to calling them “love handles.”

One Response to “Muffin Top! What Happened to Love Handles?”

  1. tracey Says:

    I agree. Love handles signifies that you still have a sex life, you know? Muffin top just sounds like we eat too much…


Leave a Reply

