Ants! I’ll Get You Mother F*ckers!

Friday, another mom on the playground asked me if the “ants showed up yet.” “What?” I asked. “Oh, it’s my fault, I left cookies out on the counter last night.” She was talking about the ants that invaded her house. I was feeling a tad bit superior b/c we didn’t have any ants inside our house. In fact, with the exception for a brief couple of days last year, we have never had ants in our house. Unfortunately, the second we entered the house, Charlie spotted an ant. I assumed we brought it in with us. No such luck. Five ants later in our kitchen and I was freaking out. Typically, I want to see all living things thrive and I don’t want to see them hurt (one of many reasons why we don’t eat meat). However, when it comes to my home, all bets are off. I feel like it is a personal attack on me when bugs or mice (we’ve had mice!) come into my home. I become obsessed. I want them gone! Right away, I got out the vinegar and water. I vacuumed and washed the floors. A few hours later, I spotted some more. I refused to go to sleep until Gadget Man (or I) went out to get some ant traps. Three days later and here they are again! I cleaned the floor again and ten minutes later, I spot some. I recently read that an ant can smell a crumb 100 yards away. With two little ones, a dog, and a husband who eats over the kitchen sink, we don’t stand a chance!

6 Responses to “Ants! I’ll Get You Mother F*ckers!”

  1. Rick Says:

    Your husband is not lazy for eating over the sink it makes sense and saves energy. First, if you eat over the sink you can rinse all the crumbs down the drain. And all the crumbs fall into the sink not on the floor, maybe you should have your messy kids eat over the sink. Second, you will save energy because you don’t have to use the dishwasher to clean dishes. And if you have a dog he should be helping with the cleaning up, done feed him to much make her work for you.

  2. moodymommy Says:

    Thanks Rick, you’re a trip!!! 🙂

  3. Rick Says:

    I might even go as far as saying you should get another dog to help clean up the food on the floor.

  4. To Think is to Create Says:

    We really do rely on the dog to clean up after everyone. I even noticed when I’m at my friends’ houses (who do not have pets) that I don’t pick up crumbs and whatnot that drop on the floor because I’m so used to our built-in hoover.

    Great meeting you on Sunday! 🙂

  5. Ms. M Says:

    Ants are persistent lil f*ckers! Sometimes they come in the house looking for water, not just crumbs (I have some trying to invade my bathroom right now!). So you might need to fix sponges to your dog’s paws as well 😉

  6. moodymommy Says:

    UPDATE: Three ant traps (two near the fridge where I found them) and one in the garage and they have disappeared! It is really silly how crazy something like this can make me. I just felt so invaded!!!!


Leave a Reply

