The “Cruelest Show on Earth” is Coming to Chicago

Ringling Brothers Circus is coming to Chicago in November. Because I am a “mommy blogger” I got no less than three different solicitations to advertise and even an offer of free tickets to the event. I told them I would NEVER support a Circus where animals are abused. I got no responses to my accusations, no denials of any kind. In their attempts to bring joy to their bank accounts (while claiming to bring joy to children) they bring terror to all kinds of animals. Go to Circuses.com to see a video of a circus Elephant trainer actually instructing trainers to get an elephant’s attention by digging a hook into their skin and making them scream. I couldn’t watch the whole thing because it made me sick to my stomach. Also on that site, you can see and hear the stories of cruelty from former Ringling Brothers employees who dared to speak out. PETA is sponsoring some protests and I encourage you to go:

What: Ringling opening night demonstration in Rosemont

When: Thursday, November 6, 6 p.m.

Where: Allstate Arena, 6920 Mannheim Rd., Rosemont (meet at the corner of Lunt Avenue and Mannheim Road )

What: Ringling opening night demonstration in Chicago

When: Tuesday, November 18, 6 p.m.

Where: United Center, 1901 W. Madison St., Chicago (meet at the corner of Damen Avenue and Madison Street )


Leave a Reply

