Oh Happy Day!

dove_2

Yeah! Barack Obama won!!! I feel so relieved, so happy, so much safer. When I woke up in the morning after election day, I found myself singing — really! I was humming and singing all day (part of that might have have been from the nookie I got the night before). Around the neighborhood, people were happy, giving thumbs up, raising their arms in victory. In some ways, it feels surreal. I have been voting in every election since I turned 18. That’s 21 years. I feel like it has never gone my way. After all, the last campaign election I actually worked on was Paul Simon’s. I had pretty much lost my faith in humanity. I wasn’t optimistic about this year’s election. To coin a phrase, I didn’t have the “audacity of hope”. Frankly, if George W. could be elected for a second term, and then Palin could be nominated for V.P., anything was possible.

In many ways, I feel a vibe in our community that is directly opposite the vibe I felt when O.J. Simpson got acquitted of murdering his ex-wife and Ron Goldman (a childhood friend of mine). I was so resentful of the Black people I saw high-fiveing each other . I felt hurt by the suspicious looks I got from the African-Americans I worked with. The whole city of Chicago seemed to be on edge for a long time after that verdict. We were divided by color, and it hurt inside (I don’t want to stir up trouble again, I actually believed Mark Furman wrongly and unjustly planted evidence, but that Simpson was guilty just the same. No matter what, two people had died and I didn’t understand the joy anyone could feel over anything related to the situation).

My point is, it is so wonderful to live in a city united. A city ready to be protected by an intelligent, thoughtful, optimistic, charming and gorgeous (oh sorry, is that relevant?) new President of the United States. Thank you citizens of my country, you have renewed my faith in humanity. You have brought hope back in my heart.

2 Responses to “Oh Happy Day!”

  1. Stuck in the house Says:

    It seems to me that if you were to ask most black people today about oj they would agee with you that he should have been found guilty.

  2. moodymommy Says:

    Oh Stuck in the House, You won’t catch me opening that can of worms! If you want to test it out and start asking, I’d be curious to hear the reactions you get. My own brother (white Jewish male) will defend O.J. to the death simply because O.J. played football for his alma matter, USC. If I dare mention O.J.’s guilt to him, he gets very angry. You won’t catch me bringing up the subject with Blacks. I can do it comfortably here b/c I blog anonymously.


Leave a Reply

