My Vampire Obsession

twilightbook(MILD SPOILER ALERT: if you haven’t read Twilight and New Moon and plan to, don’t read this post. However, I really don’t give anything truly important away)

At a recent girls’ night out, a friend could not stop gushing about “Edward.” Finally, I realized that “Edward” is a character in the teen literary sensation Twilight by Stephenie Meyer. I enjoy Young Adult Literature and fantasy. Furthermore, just hearing someone my age so into a book intrigued me. I ran to the library to get myself a copy. Well, just a few pages into it and I was hooked. It is one of the most suspenseful books I’ve ever read. I can’t say it’s that well-written in other ways. Among other issues, I was getting quite bored of reading various forms of the word “stumble” (Bella, the main character is clumsy beyond believability, and this is coming from a fellow clumsy girl). Anyway, since the book is so suspenseful, and such an easy read, it was very hard to put it down. I took it with me in the car to read at traffic lights: I brought it to pick up Eva at the bus stop; I put the kids in front of the computer on PBSkids.org just so I could read more of it. Laundry, dinner, and my sleep were sacrificed for a couple of days until it was finished. Apparently, I’m not the only one to get this way while reading Twilight. I found a whole blog dedicated to moms addicted to Twilight. I’m really concerned about what’s going to happen with my family life, because there are three more books to this story. I couldn’t wait to read book two, New Moon, which I have almost finished, but I’ll have to take a break after this because I have to get going on Three Cups of Tea for my book group. I bet I plow through that just to get to read about my favorite Vampire again! (Jacob is actually more my type. I once dated a Seneca Indian — yummy! Besides, Jacob loves Bella for who she is not what she smells like).

Addendum:  National Public Radio just aired a book review of the Twilight series.  The reviewer is a Georgetown University professor, so it makes me feel a bit vindicated about loving the series so much.

One Response to “My Vampire Obsession”

  1. Catherine Says:

    I accidently saw the movie…on opening night! I had no idea the books even existed and there I was in the middle of a room packed with insane teenage girls. 🙂

    Since then, I’ve considered the books…but I’m not sure….


Leave a Reply

