Toy Review: Dream Box Math Game Online

stellacarnivalAs a Chicago Moms Blog contributor, I get some pretty cool perks. One of them was a chance for my kids to try out Dream Box, an new online math video game for preschoolers through second grade. Since both my children fall into this range, everyone got to enjoy it (and we all know how much my children like to play video games). My first grader likes the games on Dream Box because there are mermaids and pixies. She says the games make math fun. My preschooler likes Dream Box because once you earn tokens for completing math games, you get to play carnival games like skeet ball and a game where you have to fit a certain number of farm animals in a pen.

I like the games because the graphics are beautiful with soothing colors (no bright lights and loud obnoxious noises) and the rewards are unique such as a chance to clean up a polluted ocean or giving a plant enough water to make a flower grow tall. Furthermore, there is even a special trial set up for parents so that they can learn how to do the games and see what the children will be doing before they have to do it themselves. One caveat, I found some of the math games to be way too difficult for my preschooler. For example, one of the games asks the child to put double digit numbers in order. I have to sit down and help him since he has just learned to recognize single digits. If you are reading this, then YOU are lucky because now that you know about Dream Box, you can go to the website and try it for two weeks, free!  Oh, and then come back here and let me know what you think!

4 Responses to “Toy Review: Dream Box Math Game Online”

  1. Anne Says:

    I am really interested in this internet math product. And was initially excited to see that one could get a free trial. However, you have to leave your credit card number in order to do this. I want to make sure that it is not too difficult for my pre-school age grandson. You did make it sound good – so maybe I’ll give it a try. Hmmmm

    • moodymommy Says:

      With the exception of my own free trial period, I have no personal or financial stake in this company. That said, my preschooler could do many of the things because he can recognize numbers. However, he did need someone there (a grown up or my seven-year-old) to sit with him and help. This was not the kind of thing he could do on his own, though certainly I could imagine many preschoolers could. Let me know what you and your grandchild think!

  2. online kids games Says:

    I truly enjoy reading your blog as the posts are so simple to read and follow. Brilliant. Please keep it up. Cheers.

  3. michael Says:

    i think dream box is really cool


Leave a Reply

