Giveaway! Scharffen Berger Chocolate and Julie & Julia Paperback

NOTE: This Giveaway is over! Congratulations to the winners selected by Random.org who are Thiien-Kim, Bonggamom, and Annalene. They have been contacted via email and addresses have been requested so the goodies can be sent. Thank you to everyone who entered!

According to Scharffen Berger, Julia Child was one of its biggest fans, once proclaiming it “America’s best dark chocolate.” Scharffen Berger chocolate contacted me and wants to give away some of their wonderful baking chocolate (they didn’t even know I use it in my own baking!) and a copy of the paperback Julie & Julia by Julie Powell to my blog readers in honor of the DVD release. All you have to do is leave a comment by this Friday the 18th answering the following question:

What is the easiest vegetarian dish you cook often that everyone enjoys?

Random.org will choose three lucky winners (U.S. addresses only) and I will contact you via email for your address and Scharffenberger will send you the Julie & Julia paperback ($7.99 retail) along with a 9.7 oz 70% Cacao Bittersweet baking bar ($9.95 retail) and 3 oz. 82% Cacao Extra Dark Chocolate bar (retail $4.95) directly.

Good luck!

25 Responses to “Giveaway! Scharffen Berger Chocolate and Julie & Julia Paperback”

  1. Leticia- Tech Savvy Mama Says:

    Mmmm…I love Scharffen Berger and thought the movie was fabulous! Thanks for the chance to win! a great prize package!

    tech savvy mama at g mail dot com

  2. kim.hormonecoloreddays Says:

    Does salad count? How about pasta salad? Spinach dip? Does that coutn as a dish if my kids spread it on sandwiches?

    I make a lentil dal that’s pretty good (and to my tastes, very mild).

    Thanks for a great giveaway!

  3. Selfish Mom Says:

    Oh what a great question, since I’m a vegetarian! I make a delicious – and healthy – spinach feta tomato pesto pizza. And then I try hard not to eat the entire thing myself.

  4. Elise Says:

    I love Chocolate and Julie and Julia. Pick ME!!!!
    Easy Veg. Recipe.
    is Soup. Saute onions and garlic til translucent, add veg broth, potatoes, and veg of your choice (broc, pumpkin, asparagus, squash) simmer until all it falling apart then puree. Salt and pepper to taste. You can add any herbs you like. It’s vegan too and yummy!

  5. kimberly/tippytoes Says:

    I’ve wanted to read that book, but have not gotten around to getting it from the library (and who doesn’t love Scharffen Berger?).

    A vegetarian dish to please everyone needs to be cheesy with hidden vegetables to get past my picky eater, so we do tacos with beans instead of meat or eggplant parmigiana.

  6. Susan @ 2KoP Says:

    Thanks for the chance to win this great prize.

    Our favorite easy veggie dish is spinach lasagna. I saute the spinach with lots of garlic; use half ricotta, half cottage cheese; and a nice chunky tomato sauce. Let me know if you want the complete recipe.

    2kopeople at gmail dot com

  7. Maureen Says:

    I make a leek and spinach quiche. Even my husband who is not big on quiche loves this.
    The other item that I make is more and appetizer of a spinach and artichoke dip. YUM

  8. Lisa Says:

    I love sliced red onion, tomatoes, basil, salt & pepper, olive oil & red wine vinegar. Yummy! I can eat this all the time & my family loves it too. My other is grilled vegetables, more olive oil, and spices. Put it in a preheated 400 degree oven for about 10 minutes and wham…you’re done & have a great dish.
    I would love to read this book & see the movie.
    Thanks for hosting.

  9. Stimey Says:

    Chocolate and a book? How can you beat that?

    My easiest vegetarian dish I make is ravioli. I use store-bought vegetarian ravioli and cook it with diced tomatoes, chopped fresh spinach, and some garlic. It’s really, really good. Everyone loves it and it takes no time to prepare.

  10. Thien-Kim Says:

    I make a spicy sesame noodle dish that is always a hit at parties! It has thai basil and sometimes I add fried tofu into it too.

  11. ikkinlala Says:

    May Canadians enter? The dish that comes to mind for me is baked spinach with cheese: put washed spinach in a baking dish, sprinkle some grated cheese (usually cheddar) over it, and bake in a medium oven until it’s to the desired consistency (somewhere between watery and completely dried out).

  12. bonggamom Says:

    Pasta (usually penne) tossed with pesto sauce, sliced peppers, olives and a sprinkling of grated parmesan cheese is always a bit hit with my kids, and it’s so easy to make!

  13. Katie Says:

    i make vegetable soup with lentils and sauteed onions, bell pepper, and carrot, and potatoes. mmmm

  14. suezette Says:

    Would love the book and chocolate!
    We are usually the family who brings leftover chili to the husband in th house next door (they are mostly vegeterian!).

  15. Rachel Says:

    We make a lot of vegetarian pasta dishes. Thanks for the giveaway!

  16. Shelli Says:

    Eggplant Parmigana! In the summer, when eggplants are in season around here. Yummy!

    • moodymommy Says:

      I’m curious, how do you make this simply? I always considered this to be a lot work. I’d love your recipe.

      • Shelli Says:

        Salt eggplant slices and let stand for 30 minutes. Rinse, pat dry. Dip eggplant in egg wash, and then coat with breadcrumbs. Place in a baking pan (spray bottom with non-stick spray), top with pizza sauce (rather than tomato sauce… keeps eggplant from getting too soggy). Top with lots of mozzarella and parmesan cheese. Very easy. Bake @ 375 for about 35-40 minutes. That’s it!

  17. c2cmom Says:

    Easiest that we make once a month: bean enchiladas. Favorite to make: two bean and corn burgers from Cooking Light. http://bit.ly/8GUc7l

  18. Kari Says:

    Grilled Cheese 🙂

  19. Amy from Occupation: Mommy Says:

    Homemade pizza. It’s simple because I make the dough in the bread maker. It’s vegetarian because nobody in my family likes toppings 🙂

  20. annalene Says:

    I really love “general taos tofu” from vegweb… super easy to make and pretty quick and haven’t met a single person who doesn’t love it!

    the recipe is here: http://vegweb.com/index.php?topic=8769.0

    thank you so much for the chance to win!

  21. Cheryl F. {The Lucky Ladybug} Says:

    Grilled cheese sandwiches 🙂 *Thanks* for the giveaway!


Leave a Reply

